Being convicted of a DUI in Mississippi is going to affect your driver’s license, possibly significantly. The law states that upon conviction your license will be suspended for at least 90 days and until you attend and complete an alcohol safety education program. However, it also allows you to petition the circuit court in the county where you live, or the county in which the case was heard, for a reduction of that suspension based on hardship.
Call Stegall Law Firm at 901-205-9894 for more information
You can’t get the suspension reduced until 30 days after the hardship begins. That means your license will be suspended and you cannot legally drive for at least 30 days. But after that you may be able to get a hardship license.
There are some rules about getting a hardship license in Mississippi. You should talk more with a Southaven DUI lawyer about the process. Those rules are:
Contact Stegall Law
- You can get a hardship license only for a first offense. They aren’t available for second offenses, third, or more.
- You won’t be able to get a hardship license if you refused a chemical test, such as test of your breath or blood for alcohol or drug content.
- You must file a petition alleging the specific facts which constitute a hardship. You must give 10 days’ notice to the commissioner of public safety, their agent, or the attorney representing the state. After that a hearing may be held.
In order to grant your petition, the court must find reasonable cause to believe that a revocation of your license would hinder your ability to either continue working, continue attending school, or obtaining necessary medical care.
Losing your license is just one consequence of a Mississippi DUI. If you want to see what options are available, contact Southaven DUI lawyer Patrick Stegall at (901) 205-9894 or firstname.lastname@example.org.