The crime of domestic assault in Tennessee is defined as an assault against a person with whom a domestic relationship is shared. This could be a spouse, sibling, other family member, or people who are dating or have a child together. If you’ve been charged with domestic assault in Somerville you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor with a sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days. You may be wondering what to do next. If you’ve never been through the criminal justice system it can be more than intimidating, it can be downright terrifying. First you should talk to a lawyer who handles domestic assault cases in Somerville. You may find that you have some workable options. If you’re a first-time offender one of your biggest concerns is keeping it off your record. This may be possible with programs like judicial diversion or anger management classes. If you’re charged with the more serious crime of aggravated assault, that changes things.
Call Stegall Law Firm at 901-205-9894 for more information
Aggravated assault in Tennessee is a class C felony carrying a minimum of three years if convicted. The most common types of aggravated assault are where a deadly weapon is used or the victim is seriously injured. These cases may still be favorable resolved but it’s going to take more work. If the facts are bad, or if it’s a high profile case, or if the victim wants to press charges to the fullest extent, the case will become more complex. That could mean it goes to the grand jury (most cases start out in General Sessions court, before being heard by the grand jury) and may have to be tried in the Circuit Court. This is just a general overview of some of the options available. Each case is different. For more information contact Somerville domestic assault lawyer Patrick Stegall. Mr. Stegall has represented many clients charged with domestic violence, and specializes in helping first-time offenders keep a clean record. Contact him at (901) 205-9894 or email@example.com.
You must be logged in to post a comment.