Domestic Assault is a serious crime in Tennessee that carries many immediate and long-lasting consequences if convicted. It is a Class A misdemeanor punishable up to 11 months and 29 days. Essentially, domestic assault is assault where the accused and the victim has some kind of domestic or family relationship. It can be between current or former spouses, a couple who is or was married, who have children, who have dated or are in a sexual relationship, or two people who are related by blood, marriage, or adoption. That’s a lot of possible relationships. It could be a cousin, an in-law, or an ex-boyfriend/girlfriend. What should you do if charged with this offense? First, call a Memphis domestic assault lawyer for help. By simply being charged with this offense, you already are under significant restrictions that could expose you to even more jail time. Most of the time in these cases, the accused is ordered to have no contact with the victim. That includes in person, or by phone, email, or Facebook-type messaging. Also if the two live together, the accused will be ordered to move out. You can see how simply being charged with this crime can turn someone’s life upside-down. If you have any contact with the victim the judge can revoke your bond and keep you in jail until the the case is resolved. On the other hand, if the victim wants the no-contact order lifted, your lawyer and the prosecutor may be able to ask the judge to do this, allowing you to go home. Another consequence of a domestic assault charge is that the victim may get an order of protection. The court can order the accused to have no contact with the victim for up to one year. If you and the victim have children together, the victim can ask, and the court can grant, that they be included in the order. Imagine not being able to see or even have any contact with your children for one year. Finally, if convicted of domestic assault in Tennessee, you permanently lose the right to buy or possess firearms. If you own any guns you would have to get rid of them. Federal law prohibits anyone convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence from owning a gun. This is defined as any misdemeanor that has as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim. Tennessee domestic assault crimes are serious matters with many long-term consequences. If you have been charged with this offense, contact Memphis domestic assault lawyer Patrick Stegall. Mr. Stegall can explain both the state and federal ramifications of these types of cases, and will craft a defense that protects your rights. Call him at (901) 205-9894 or send him an email to email@example.com.
CategoryFiled under: Domestic Assault
You must be logged in to post a comment.